General Information

Named in 1841, the town of Cary is located in McHenry County in northern Illinois, approximately 45 miles NW of Chicago. It is comprised of the town of Cary, with its central business district, a number of small villages and rolling acres of rural community.

The Cary Fire Protection District is over 100 years old, and is a separate entity from the Village of Cary. The Fire District provides fire, rescue and advanced life support ambulance services to over 35,000 residents in the Cary area. This includes the Villages of Trout Valley, Oakwood Hills, portions of Algonquin and Lake In The Hills and the surrounding unincorporated areas in both McHenry and Lake Counties. Additionally, the district responds to the emergency needs of our neighboring towns through the Mutual Aid Box Alarm System (M. A. B. A. S.)

CFPD staffs over 65 part-time/paid on call (POC) members and 6 full-time career members in 2 Cary stations. All members are trained through the Illinois Office of State Fire Marshall and the McHenry/Western Lake County Emergency Medical Services. All personnel maintain Certified Firefighter II and Emergency Medical Technician-basic (EMT) status, and over 35  of these individuals are also licensed paramedics.


Station 1: Headquarters
400 Cary-Algonquin Road
Cary, Illinois 60013

Station 2
2015 Crystal Lake Road
Cary, Illinois 60013